Thursday, April 8, 2010

How to disabled/enabled Delete permission in in Defect module?

User group has no DELETE permission in DEFECT module. How can I enable  it for user group in all domain including all projects within it?

And the following are the different answers I got for this :

1. The first solution:

I am using QC 10.0, and here is how I would try to solve this issue in QC -- note these changes are at the project level (not domain level):

* Navigate to (Tools, Customize) menu commands.

* Click the (Project Users) link.
* Find your user in the list and note to which group they belong.
* Click the (Groups) link.
* Select the group to which your user belongs.
* Click the [Change] button - in the Permissions group on the right side of the screen. This displays a [Permission Settings] window.
* Navigate to [Defects] tab.
* The 3rd command in the displayed list is [Delete Defect]. Enable this checkbox to allow all users belonging to this group to be able to delete defects.

Note: Remember that any permissions you apply on a group level are going to affect all users in that group. If you don't intend for this consequence, then move the user to a different group / create a new group with the exact permissions desired and then move the user to that group.

2. Second Solution:

You can do this with some programming using both the QC Site Admin API and the QC OTA API.
It will go like this:
- Get all projects through the site admin API
- Connect to each project using the OTA API
- For each group in the project, remove the delete permissions using the OTA API

You will find a lot of help on the HP forums ( ).

3. Third Solution :

1. You can give project administrator permission to all projects from site administration.
2. You can create a group as a copy of QATester group and add the delete permission to it and add this user to the new group in each project.

Unfortunatelly QC doesn't have yet many administration control feature that can ease you job here...

Unless you have Premier edition and all you project are connected to a template but then again you would have to accept a template change in each and every project.

 4. Fourth Solution: 

You can ask your DBA to write a query to delete the particular record and run the same for all the project schemas for which you want to delete.

5. Fifth Solution:

You can easily write a QTP Script to perform this task for you. Also the built in Admin user does have a password so you can log in with it, this account has full rights. The default password used to be tdtdtd . Oddly enough that is also the password to open up the VB code behind the Excel macro used to upload test scripts.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Site Connections in QC 9.0 Site Administartor

Through this tab, you can monitor the users currently connected to a Quality Center server.
For each user, you can view the domain and project being used, the user’s machine name, the time the user first logged in to the project, and the time the most recent action was performed. You can also view the client type
connection to the Quality Center server.
You can also view the licenses that are currently being used by each user. The Mercury Quality Center license indicates that the user can access all modules in a specific project. The Defects Module license indicates that
the user can access only the Defects module.You can send messages to users connected to your Quality Center projects. You can also disconnect users from projects.

There are three sub tabs under site connections. These are
1. Disconnect: It is used to disconnect user from quality center.
Steps: i) Click any user from list.
          ii) Click on Disconnect. The selected user is disconnected from quality center.

This feature is mainly used when creating project from source project. And some user are already log in to source project. When you create new project from source project, you should first check whether users are login to source project or not. If they are login you can disconnect them or inform them to disconnect.

2. Send Message: It is used to send message to connected user.
Steps: i) Click any user/group from list.
         ii) Click on Send Message. it opens send message dialog box. You can type message and send .
This feature mainly used if some user is login to quality center and you want to disconnect him for some administrative task.

3. Group By:
There are two options: 'Group By Project' and 'Group By User'
By default it display list of users.
If you select 'Group By Project': It sorted out list by ascending order of domain name. Inside them there are project names and then there are user names those are connected to quality center. This is mostly used options because you can check it for whether for some specific project users are connected or not.

Group By User: It sorted out list by ascending order of user name. Inside that it contains the domain name and project name and all user details.


Enabling LDAP Authentication for Users in QC 9.0

You can allow users to log in to Quality Center using their LDAP passwords, instead of Quality Center passwords.

When using LDAP authentication, users are authenticated against LDAP using the distinguished names (DN) that are stored in the Domain Authentication property in the Quality Center database. When the user
attempts to log in, and the DN information in Quality Center is invalid, the user is unable to log in to Quality Center.You can enhance the search so that when the DN information is invalid, Quality Center will also search on the LDAP server, using the LDAP import settings defined in Site Administration. If the user is found, the DN is updated in Quality Center, and an automatic login attempt is performed. To set this extended search, define a comma-separated list for the LDAP_SEARCH_USER_CRITERIA Site Configuration parameter. The possible values are username, email, fullname, phone, description. The order of the properties defines their priority if multiple results are found. For example, if the parameter is set to username and email, and two users are
found with the same user name on the LDAP server, their e-mail addresses are checked. If more than one user is found answering the set properties, an error message is returned. If the search for the user succeeds, the user is logged in to Quality Center.

To enable LDAP authentication for users:
1 In Site Administration, click the Site Users tab.
2 Click the User Settings button and choose Authentication Settings. The Authentication Settings dialog box opens.
3 Under Authentication type, select LDAP to set the authentication type as LDAP for all users.
4 In the Directory provider URL box, type the URL of the LDAP server (ldap://:).
5 Click the Test Connection button to test the URL of the LDAP server.
6 Click OK.

QC 9.0 Site administration

Using Site Administration, you create and maintain Quality Center projects, users, and servers. You can also define site administrators and change site administrator passwords.

SiteAdministration contains the following tabs:
Site Projects : It is used to manage your Quality Center projects. This includes adding new domains and projects, querying project data, restoring projects, renaming projects, and activating or deactivating projects.
You can also upgrade projects from a previous Quality Center version to the current version.

Site Users: It is used to add new users and define user properties, including changing passwords.

Site Connections: It is used to monitor the users currently connected to a Quality Center server.

Licenses: It is used to monitor the total number of Quality Center licenses in use and to modify the license key number.

Servers: Used to modify Quality Center server information, such as the log file and mail protocol.

➤ DB Servers: Used to manage your database servers. This includes adding a new database server, editing a server’s connection string, changing a server’s default administrator user name and password, and changing a user password.

Site Configuration: It is used to modify Quality Center configuration parameters.

Site Analysis: It is used to monitor the number of licensed Quality Center users connected to your projects at specific points over a period of time.

Tools: Site Administration also includes the Tools button on the upper-right corner of the Site Administration window. Choose Migration Tool to migrate any projects you created in TestDirector to Quality Center.